U S Department of Health and Human Services HHS Definition

U S Department of Health and Human Services HHS Definition

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is a Cabinet-level government department that provides health and human services while promoting research in social services, medicine, and public health. It includes 11 agencies that manage more than 100 programs, such as the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), and the Administration for Children and Families (ACF).

Key Takeaways:

– HHS is a federal department that promotes the health and wellbeing of U.S. citizens and research in social services, medicine, and public health.

– It has 11 divisions and over 100 programs across its agencies.

– HHS also implements programs related to social service, civil rights, and healthcare privacy.

– The CDC and FDA are two well-known divisions of HHS.

The Department of Health and Human Services was originally founded in 1953 as the Department of Health, Education, and Welfare (HEW). In 1980, it was reorganized as the Department of Health and Human Services. It provides grant opportunities and guidance related to the Covid-19 pandemic and also implements parts of the Affordable Care Act, enforces the HIPAA Privacy Rule, and operates the Head Start program for children. It is the largest grant-making agency in the country.

HHS has 11 divisions, including the CDC, Administration for Community Living (ACL), and FDA:

– The CDC conducts research to protect the population from health threats, prevent diseases, and promote healthy behaviors.

– The ACL focuses on the care and health of older adults, people with disabilities, families, and caregivers.

READ MORE  Long-Term Capital Gains and Losses Definition and Tax Treatment

– The FDA ensures the safety and efficacy of drugs, medical devices, and food products while aiming to reduce the use of tobacco products by minors.

Other divisions of HHS include the ACF, AHRQ, ATSDR, CMS, HRSA, IHS, NIH, and SAMHSA. HHS oversees more than 100 programs that cover social services, civil rights, healthcare privacy, disaster preparedness, and health-related research. It also offers social service programs for low-income individuals, people with disabilities, military families, and senior citizens. HHS protects healthcare rights under HIPAA.

HHS stands for "Health and Human Services" and refers to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, which promotes and improves the health of all Americans through various services and programs.

The HHS is responsible for promoting and enhancing the health of U.S. citizens through over 100 programs focused on health, science, care, social services, prevention, and wellness.

The current HHS Secretary is Xavier Becerra, the 25th secretary and the first Latino to hold the office.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *